Tuesday, February 26th, 2013


Diabetes champions honored with Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medals
Canadian Diabetes Association proudly announces medal recipients

TORONTO, ONTARIO (February 26, 2 013) – The Canadian Diabetes Association is honoured to acknowledge 30 recipients with Diamond Jubilee commemorative medals representing outstanding Canadians who provide essential diabetes support. Recipients include hard working volunteers who help raise funds, support research for a cure and passionate advocates who raise awareness for the cause and a compelling voice for Canadians living with diabetes. Winners also include dedicated healthcare professionals working on the front lines to help people manage their disease every single day.

Across Canada, 60,000 Canadians, including individuals in the diabetes community are being recognized for their contributions to their community and country earning this prestigious Diamond Jubilee medal.

“These medal recipients demonstrate a true dedication to making a difference in the lives of the more than nine million Canadians who live with diabetes or prediabetes,” says Doug Macnamara, President and CEO of the Canadian Diabetes Association. “On behalf of the Association, I would like to congratulate all recipients for their tremendous contributions to the diabetes community and express our sincere appreciation for all who were nominated.”

The Diamond Jubilee Medal Program was created by the Government of Canada to celebrate the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the throne as the Queen of Canada. Members of the general public were asked to nominate individuals for the medal program, which is administered by the Chancellery of Honours, as part of the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General.

Medal recipients recognized for their remarkable work in the diabetes community include:

Aden Brubacher – Elmira, ON
Alice Van Ankum – Drayton, ON
Dr. Anne Kenshole – Toronto, ON
Dr. Brian Rodrigues – Vancouver, BC
Dr. Bruce Verchere – Vancouver, BC
Dr. Dan Metzger – Vancouver, BC
Dr. David Miller – Vancouver, BC
Doreen Hatton – Vancouver, BC
Fran Moreau – Midland, ON
George Steiner – Toronto, ON
Hannah Martin – Sault St.Marie, ON
Dr. Herbert Gaisano – Toronto, ON
Irma Ternan – Harriston, ON
John Bowles – Vancouver, BC
John Camelford – Guelph, ON
Dr. John Hunt – Vancouver, BC
Ken Wade – Dryden, ON
Dr. Kwang Yang – Surrey, BC
Louise Marshall – Eden Mills, ON
Mary Durnford – Cambridge, ON
Dr. Maureen Clement – Armstrong, BC
Dr. Michael Vallis – Halifax, NS
Nel Peach – Vancouver, BC
Peter McDougall – Fredericton, NB
Robert Gawley – Regina, SK
Sebastien Sasseville – Quebec City, QC
Shawn Shepheard – Toronto, ON
Sue Schaefer – Victoria, BC
Dr. Tom Best – Saskatoon, SK
Vince Perdue – Sudbury, ON

“Medal presentation ceremonies are being held across Canada to celebrate these outstanding individuals who are committed to helping people and the fight against diabetes,” adds Macnamara.
“The mission of the Association is brought to life through the actions of our volunteers. The contributions of these medal recipients are an example of the Association’s dedicated work across Canada.”